Latest News

Inauguration of an Eight (8)-Member District Census Implementation Committee (DCIC) 23rd February, 2020

The Anloga District Assembly in the Volta Region has inaugurated an eight (8)-member District Census Implementation Committee (DCIC) to oversee the 2020 Population and Housing Census (PHC) in the District. The Committee will provide the complement of skills and competencies needed for a successful conduct of the census in the District. Hon. Seth Yormewu, the Anloga District Chief Executive (DCE) who inaugurated the committee said in a strategic move to improve the timeliness of census results, it was expected that the Assembly, Chiefs, and other relevant stakeholders at large would support the efforts of the Ghana Statistical Service (GSS),. The Committee has Mr. Emmanuel Dzakpasu, District Coordinating Director (DCD) as Chairman. The rest of the members are Mr. Tunu Simon Whoknows, District Census Officer (DCO) as Secretary, Mr. Godwin Agbenyo, District Director NCCE, Mad. Nancy N. Dogbey, District Information Officer, Torgbui Kpemini Gauw V, Traditional Council Representative, Mad. Yvonne Ame-Bruce, District Director of Education, Mad. Perfect Titiati, District Director of Health, and Mr. Wilfred Anokye Aidoo, District Statistics Officer. Mr. Louis Toboh, Deputy Volta Regional Statistician in his presentation said the 2020 Population and Housing involves a total count of all persons living within the country and all housing units in the same country with a specified time.He said other unique characteristics of 2020 PHC exercise including the use of Computer-Assisted Personal Interview (CAPI), Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinates which heavily depend on Technology, in-built quality control system for internal consistency checks and validation of data collected to enhance data quality control and digitized maps.Mr. Toboh mentioned that aside having updated data, policy and decision making as well as socio-economic, demographic and housing indicators, the census data would serve as basis for review of administrative boundaries, constituencies and electoral areas, equitable allocation of national resources and facilities.

Previous Commissioning of Community-Based Health Planning Services (CHPS) Compound at Akplorfudzi on 22nd February, 2020

Leave Your Comment